houndfull.blogg.se

Convert western digital for mac to pc
Convert western digital for mac to pc









convert western digital for mac to pc
  1. #Convert western digital for mac to pc how to#
  2. #Convert western digital for mac to pc upgrade#
  3. #Convert western digital for mac to pc software#
  4. #Convert western digital for mac to pc password#

WHAT CRAP! Nothing has been affected at all. I was 'warned' that un -installing Service Pack 3 could seriously affect the operation of all my programs etc. I UNINSTALLED SERVICE PACK 3 AND GUESS WHAT? All my drives now work perfectly as they did before.

#Convert western digital for mac to pc software#

I have changed things in device manager, disk management, deleted this and that, re-named drives, uninstalled and re-installed drives, downloaded software that was supposed to help and NOTHING worked. I have spent hours over the past few days scouring the internet seeking a remedy. The drives would show up but the files within them wouldn't, then the drives wouldn't show up at all and visa versa. Before the re-install, all my external storage devices worked perfectly, afterwards, I had nothing but problems. I recently re-installed my OS (XP Home) including Service Packs 1, 2 & 3. "Drive letter and paths" or something, I cant really remember right now.

convert western digital for mac to pc

connect the non working external drive and go to device manager where you change its drive letter. Always use safe remove before disconnecting. Hopefully this was just a case of "bad disconnection" between my parents computer and my own. Ofcourse I quickly copied everything on it to my desktop and now Im looking in to it further. Suddenly I got both the "format this disc before use" and the screen for "How do you want to open this disc" so. What I did was I went to device manager and I uninstalled it (USB mass harddrive device(?) under the USB tab) like 2-3 times and during these tries I switched USB ports and tested with everyone of them.

convert western digital for mac to pc

So It wanted me to format and my computer was really slow during the time. but it wasnt showing up as normal, it only said "local disc (E:)" for example. Then I connected it to my own new eeepc which started to installing the device etcetc. I was using my WD passport my parents computer like normal. That indicates that the format is done and you can use your WD to any computer. You will notice on the desktop the WD will change name. If using mac to format:Ĭhoose Partition 1 on the drop down belowĬlick on Format option and Choose MS-DOS (FAT) not big woman ok.Ĭlick option below and Tick Master Booth Record Or you can format that onto a mac computer. try to check the website to get the number for technical support. Once you have done the proper format you can use the WD to any computer.

#Convert western digital for mac to pc how to#

They will guide you how to format that on the phone. With WD they do have a website and it's free when you call them. I know how to do it on MAC but with windows I have not tried. Once the WD is empty you need to format that. Number one what you need to do is take out what is in your WD transfer it to which computer can recognize it. Keep in mind that this will not fix damaged hardware.

#Convert western digital for mac to pc upgrade#

I'm surprised Microsoft have made a mistake like this because there windows xp upgrade requires a ext drive to save your data. now plug the drive in your windows 7 PC and be amazed that the data is all there. Apply the setting this will take some time depending on data. Plug the drive in on the 2nd computer, go to my computer, right click properties, go to the security tab, (vista uses will have to click edit) add a new permission. at the bottom of the list make sure use simple file sharing is not ticked. Lucky its very easy to fix as long as u have a 2nd computer with xp/vista installed.įirst of all check that in control panel - folder options - view tab.

#Convert western digital for mac to pc password#

If u had any kind of permission (Normally turned on from having a password on a user account) then windows 7 can't see in the drive and will only let u reformat it. It seems windows 7 doesn't understand its own permission system for ext drives.











Convert western digital for mac to pc